Vegetarian Underground https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/ Hearty Vegetarian Cooking Bread and Butter Pickles https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/bread-and-butter-pickles https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/bread-and-butter-pickles Fri, 20 Oct 2017 15:33:00 -0700

You do not need special pickling cucumbers to make this treat. I used 6 large slicing cucumbers, and they were great. Use them on sandwiches or with veggie burgers!

]]>
Mushroom Pocket Snacks https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/mushroom-pocket-snacks https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/mushroom-pocket-snacks Wed, 18 Oct 2017 15:34:00 -0700

I served these recently as a side dish with a vegetarian meal, but they also would be lovely as a snack or appetizer with a plum chutney.

]]>
Cucumber Olive Salad https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/cucumber-olive-salad https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/cucumber-olive-salad Mon, 16 Oct 2017 13:12:00 -0700

This salad is somewhat like a vegan Italian antipasta. It is refreshing, and perfect for an appetizer before the main meal.

]]>
Texas Trash Snack https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/texas-trash-snack https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/texas-trash-snack Fri, 13 Oct 2017 10:00:00 -0700

This is a perfect snack for game night or movie night. Easy to make and low in sugar!

]]>
Kidney Bean Chili https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/2012/09/kidney-bean-chili.html https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/2012/09/kidney-bean-chili.html Wed, 11 Oct 2017 10:00:00 -0700

Perfect for a cool Autumn day, this chili may be served vegan style, with sliced green onions and a dollop of vegan sour cream on top, or as a hearty vegetarian dish with shredded cheddar cheese. It also makes a great "Chili Mac". Simply mix cooked macaroni into the chili just before serving.

]]>
Quick Table Hot Sauce https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/quick-table-hot-sauce https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/quick-table-hot-sauce Mon, 09 Oct 2017 16:13:00 -0700

This hot sauce will bring burritos, tacos, and other Hispanic dishes to life, and it only takes a few minutes to make.

]]>
Cauliflower Curry with TVP https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/cauliflower-curry-with-tvp https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/cauliflower-curry-with-tvp Fri, 06 Oct 2017 20:37:00 -0700

Traditional Indian Cauliflower Curry (Aloo Gobi) is extra nutritious and satisfying with the addition of textured vegetable protein.

]]>
Pear Pecan Saucing Cake https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/pear-pecan-saucing-cake https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/pear-pecan-saucing-cake Wed, 04 Oct 2017 10:15:00 -0700

Made in the manner of a pudding cake, this dessert has a more substantial cake texture and plenty of caramel-like sauce and sweet pears to surround it!

]]>
Pecan Cottage Cheese Loaf https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/pecan-cottage-cheese-loaf https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/pecan-cottage-cheese-loaf Mon, 02 Oct 2017 13:14:00 -0700

For a vegetarian meatloaf that holds together nicely and pairs well with potatoes and veggies, try this easy, pecan loaf!

]]>
Stovetop Cabbage Rolls https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/stovetop-cabbage-rolls https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/stovetop-cabbage-rolls Fri, 29 Sep 2017 10:00:00 -0700

Cabbage is readily available, inexpensive, keeps well, and is so nutritious! Here is a traditional recipe, using a vegetarian meat substitute. It is so delicious!

]]>