Vegetarian Underground https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/ Hearty Vegetarian Cooking Chicken (Not!)™ Vegetable Cacciatore https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/chicken-(not!)™-vegetable-cacciatore https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/chicken-(not!)™-vegetable-cacciatore Fri, 24 Mar 2017 17:00:00 -0700

I like the Dixie Diners' Club textured vegetable protein products, such as their Chicken (Not!)™ chunks. However, you can substitute any brand of vegetable protein chunks and use the vegetarian chicken broth to flavor them. This makes a tasty and comforting meal, and is really easy to make on the stove top!

]]>
Baked Ripe Plantains https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/baked-ripe-plantains https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/baked-ripe-plantains Wed, 22 Mar 2017 10:00:00 -0700

I used plantains that had just gone completely black, and they were sweet and delicious, yet still firm. You may also use yellow plantains that have a few black spots on them.

]]>
Garbanzo Carrot Salad https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/garbanzo-carrot-salad https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/garbanzo-carrot-salad Mon, 20 Mar 2017 16:14:00 -0700

This salad may be made a day ahead of a special dinner. It keeps well when covered and refrigerated. We like it for a light, low-calorie lunch.

]]>
Sweetie-Boo Honey Cake https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/rustic-honey-cake https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/rustic-honey-cake Fri, 17 Mar 2017 23:00:00 -0700

This is a very basic, easy-to-make honey cake. It is based on on a recipe that is over 100 years old!

]]>
Millet and Spinach Pilaf https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/millet-and-spinach-pilaf https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/millet-and-spinach-pilaf Wed, 15 Mar 2017 09:00:00 -0700

This dish may be made with pantry and freezer items, even when you are low on fresh produce. The millet seeds offer a nutty flavor which complements the spinach and lemon in this wonderful side dish.

]]>
Whole Grain Apple Muffins https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/whole-grain-apple-muffins https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/whole-grain-apple-muffins Mon, 13 Mar 2017 11:00:00 -0700

Here is a recipe for healthy muffins that children and adults alike will enjoy receiving in their lunch bags. I like them for an evening snack with herbal tea.

]]>
Asian Tofu and Mushrooms https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/asian-tofu-and-mushrooms https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/asian-tofu-and-mushrooms Fri, 10 Mar 2017 17:00:00 -0800

This tasty dish will make tofu lovers out of just about anyone! It's easy to make, low in fat, and high in protein. I like to serve it with fried rice.

]]>
Shoofly Pie https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/shoofly-pie https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/shoofly-pie Wed, 08 Mar 2017 10:00:00 -0800

Shoofly pie is a molasses crumb pie that was originally developed to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence in Philadelphia. If you are looking for an unusual, historically significant treat, this may be the recipe for you!

]]>
Jicama Diced Salad https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/jicama-diced-salad https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/jicama-diced-salad Mon, 06 Mar 2017 12:09:00 -0800

This is a crunchy salad that goes well with spicy dishes. It packs well in lunch boxes, and may be used as an appetizer as well with its refreshing, slightly sweet flavor.

]]>
English Peas and Rainbow Rotini https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/english-peas-and-rainbow-rotini https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/english-peas-and-rainbow-rotini Sat, 04 Mar 2017 09:15:00 -0800

Easy and economical, your family will love this vegetarian dish!

]]>