Vegetarian Underground https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/ Hearty Vegetarian Cooking Much Needed Birthday Gift https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/much-needed-birthday-gift https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/much-needed-birthday-gift Wed, 21 Jun 2017 14:50:20 -0700 Meet Our Puppy Halo! https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/meet-our-puppy-halo! https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/meet-our-puppy-halo! Wed, 21 Jun 2017 14:47:00 -0700 Our new puppy, Halo, is now a little over one year old. We found her at a local rescue agency, and she is a lively, spunky little mixed breed pup! Her favorite thing is running off the leash in the open lands of the Cleveland National Forest near the Pacific Crest Trail. She is faster than any jack rabbit!

]]>
Ginger Mint Hummus https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/ginger-mint-hummus https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/ginger-mint-hummus Tue, 20 Jun 2017 17:42:00 -0700

This hummus dip has an Indian flare and goes especially well with pieces of my Sweet Potato Roti (recipe coming soon!) Great for a party or appetizer!

]]>
Cottage Cheese Loaf https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/cottage-cheese-loaf https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/cottage-cheese-loaf Fri, 16 Jun 2017 14:25:00 -0700

This vegetarian meatloaf makes a good main course when served with mashed potatoes and veggies. Leftovers make wonderful meatloaf sandwiches. (I like them laced with ketchup!)

]]>
Lemony Kale Salsa Fresca https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/lemony-kale-salsa-fresca https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/lemony-kale-salsa-fresca Mon, 12 Jun 2017 18:46:00 -0700

Here is a salsa fresca without cilantro, and with plenty of kale instead. It is great as a dip with tortilla chips. It is also a nice accompaniment to burritos, black bean burgers, and a wide array of other dishes.

]]>
Plum Sauce Salad Dressing https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/plum-sauce-salad-dressing https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/plum-sauce-salad-dressing Fri, 09 Jun 2017 09:30:00 -0700

Plum sauce may be found in the Asian section of your supermarket. It is often used as an accompaniment to spring rolls, egg rolls, and Chinese noodles. Here, we have employed it in sweetening this lovely Asian salad dressing.

]]>
Vegetarian Sausages in Casings https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/vegetarian-sausages-in-casings https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/vegetarian-sausages-in-casings Wed, 07 Jun 2017 14:45:00 -0700

Vegan plant-based sausage casings may not hold up to the heat in this particular recipe, but I have had success with the cellulose casings as well as with aluminum foil. I make this large recipe using a sausage stuffing machine. The sausages are then frozen and ready for use. The seasonings in this recipe is mild so that they can be used for breakfast, in sandwiches and various ethnic dishes. Slice them for use in stews and casseroles as well!

]]>
Lentil Soup with Chard and Squash https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/lentil-soup-with-chard-and-squash https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/lentil-soup-with-chard-and-squash Fri, 02 Jun 2017 20:00:00 -0700

Lentils are a great source of protein, iron and other minerals. They have a rich texture and flavor in this hearty dinner soup. I like to serve it with homemade rye bread or whole grain crackers.

]]>
Vegan Chocolate Covered Raisins https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/vegan-chocolate-covered-raisins https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/vegan-chocolate-covered-raisins Tue, 30 May 2017 14:38:00 -0700

If you like dark chocolate and crave something sweet, here is an easy recipe that has no artificial ingredients or white sugar!

]]>
Rosemary Olive Bread https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/rosemary-olive-bread https://www.vegetarianunderground.com/rosemary-olive-bread Wed, 24 May 2017 15:35:00 -0700

Our local markets offer an artisan bread with rosemary and black olives in it. Here is my version of this delicious bread. It is a bit salty, but that gives the olives a great setting. Reduce salt if desired.

]]>